Advice From a Former Bride| The First Look | C. Baron’s Guide to a Perfect Day!

I was convinced that if I researched enough, I would never second guess the choices that I had made for our wedding. I felt a lot of pressure to “get it right the first time,” because obviously, I knew I wasn’t going to get a “do-over.” Therefore, I had a 19 month engagement and spent every second of it researching and soaking in every bit of wedding related advice that I could. For the most part, I can say I walked away with few regrets. Most of this can be attributed to all of the advice I received from former Brides.  Really, I can’t thank them enough. I started thinking, what better way to pay homage to these ladies than to pass my little book of knowledge to my very favorite Brides-to-Be? Starting today, I am going to start sharing a few of my own little personal pearls of wisdom.

So I planned to start with one of the most controversial topics. The First Look. Go big or go home right? Most importantly, you need to know that I did NOT do a first look. In retrospect, I should have done a first look. It is my biggest regret. Whether you plan to do a first look or not is a very personal choice, but I do think you should know what I am thinking and feeling years after the big day.

2013; Black; Bride; C. Baron Photography; Couple; Fire truck; Groom; HFD; Houston Wedding Photographer; November; Texas; The Gallery; Wedding; White; White flowers; birdseed; first look; houston; strapless gown; sunset;

There is usually one reason stopping every Bride from having a first look. It was the very reason I did not have a first look. I was concerned that if my groom saw me before the ceremony it would somehow make the moment I walked down the aisle less magical and change my his reaction when I entered the room.  Every girl wants that reaction from her groom. You know what reaction I am talking about. I just knew that my groom would be unfazed if he had already seen me or my dress. Then I saw a few weddings with images like this.

Beach; Blue; C. Baron Photography; Coral; Springs Events; Houston Wedding Photographer; Strapless; Houston Wedding Photography; Magnolia; Rain; Spring; 2015; Sunset; Texas; Turquoise; Woodlands Wedding Photographer; beaded; ceremony; crystal Springs; lace; outdoors; pine trees; reception; rustic; seashells; unity cross; Beach; Blue; C. Baron Photography; Coral; Springs Events; Houston Wedding Photographer; Strapless; Houston Wedding Photography; Magnolia; Rain; Spring; 2015; Sunset; Texas; Turquoise; Woodlands Wedding Photographer; beaded; ceremony; crystal Springs; lace; outdoors; pine trees; reception; rustic; seashells; unity cross;

You remember Codi and Brad in the pictures above, right? I am going out on a limb here, but I am going to say his reactions were equally filled with emotion. Personally, I think Codi walking down the aisle evoked a little more emotion. On the other side of the coin, I have now had the honor of seeing couples share their First Looks. I can’t explain the feeling, but it is a completely different and incredibly intimate experience. It is very likely the only private moment a couple will share on their wedding day…at least until they actually leave their wedding. Each and every time I get nervous for the couple. I end up with goosebumps and butterflies…and I am simply a bystander. Therefore, I feel very cheated out of the fact that I didn’t get to share this very special moment with my husband. Of course, this is no one’s fault, but my own.

African-American; Brookshire; C. Baron Photography; Houston Wedding Photographer; Lavender; Lilac; Pecan Springs; Texas; Wedding; outdoor; African-American; Brookshire; C. Baron Photography; Houston Wedding Photographer; Lavender; Lilac; Pecan Springs; Texas; Wedding; outdoor;

There is also the logistical side of having a first look. If you are able to see each other before the wedding ceremony then that means you can take pictures together, too. Trust me, there can never be too many photos of the two of you on your wedding day. Not only just the two of you, but with your families and wedding parties. This means that you are able to make your entrance into the reception sooner, giving you (and your family) more time with your guests and more time to party! I know you have heard this a million times, but your wedding day will fly by. The more time you have to take it all in the better!

Also, you can stop worrying about your ceremony entrance in any regard. Know that NOTHING will change how magical the moment will be when you walk down the aisle. I don’t care if it is raining cats and dogs, children are screaming or the place is on FIRE. You are walking down the aisle to become this man’s wife. His wife. Two shall become one. Mr. & Mrs. Husband and Wife. That is an incredible moment between the two of you that will never be changed by any outside factor. Also, you should know you will never experience anything like this moment again. It truly is the most amazing feeling. Get ready 🙂

2014, black C. Baron Photography, Discovery Green, dountown, fall, bubbles, Hilton Americas, Houston, Houston Wedding Photographer, October, park, strapless, Texas, The Grove, Treehouse, white metallic, Oleg Cassini

Like I said, this is a very personal choice that is ultimately up to you. I would never wish for this decision (or any decision) to be anything but your own. My greatest hope is that you can learn from my mistakes and post-wedding knowledge to make all of the right choices for you and your groom. Happy Planning!!!

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

